My salon bleaching experience. I am blond now!

Posted on

Hi guys! It has been such a long time since I last dyed my hair and update this blog. This time, I am back with a very detailed entry about my salon experience. If you follow me on Facebook, you probably knew I dyed my hair in the beginning of the week. This is my first time going to a salon to get my hair bleached and I have learned so much from them. Therefore, I am writing this to share with you about my experience and new knowledge

Let me show you the before and after photo
Collage 2015-03-07 00_10_34

You can see the change is drastic! It was a long process to achieve the final hair color. First, the hairdresser evaluated my hair condition and the color I had on. She asked question about my hair history, what i had done with it and when. As you could see, my original hair had at least 3 colors on it so she pulled out a bunch of shades (think pantone pallets!) to match with my hair condition. I had decided to chop off my hair so she didn’t have to match the tail color but the roots and the middle. After evaluation, I went to wash chair and got the green part chopped off. Afterwards, the bleaching started.

20150303_110818

As you can see she put a lot of bleaching mix on my hair, this is where I learned that I have been using too little bleaching mixture. I think she used the strongest hydropeoxide on me, which means 40 vol. She put it on my hair evenly, 2 cm from root to tail and then the roots. I think that was the first time I ever have bleach that close to my roots. It was painful, felt like burning. She left it for about 20 mins and then washed off with cold water.

Here’s the result
20150303_120313

I was frightened. Mostly how blonde I was but also how weird my hair color was. It had a dark spot on top of my head, some of the green was still there and even ginger shade near the tail. Bleaching with Asian hair is definitely tricky.
20150303_122148

The supervisor of my hairdresser said that they would now need to dye my hair. The top would be dyed with a cool blonde tone and the bottom would be dye with a cooper blonde tone. The idea behind this is to even out the color pigments in my hair, as the top’s color wasn’t even and the bottom’s one was greenish (red neutral green. Color wheel). So there went, I had to endure another 20 mins of burning sensation. But it was definitely worth it!

20150303_150158

What I have learned after the experience
1. When making bleacher, mix in a little bit of warm water. This will keep your hair from drying out through the process.
2. Use a lot of bleacher on your hair! Make sure it is soaked in bleacher and it should feel frothy on your head, not roughly.
3. Last but not least, it is very tricky to bleach dark hair, so I still suggest going to the salon for bleaching after all of my entries in this blog. It’s good to know what you should do to achieve the color you want! But if you are not sure, go to the professionals. Also plus point is they know how to put the chemical mixture evenly on your hair.

Even though I had intended to go red after the bleach, I felt in love with the color and all the effort to create it (it took 6 hours), so I decided to be a blondie for a while! Adventure of a blondie ahead!

Until next time!

Emily

Leave a comment